Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me

Posted: August 31, 2013 in History, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Submitted for the Daily Prompt: Country

Assignment: Are you patriotic? What does being patriotic mean to you?  Photographers, artists, poets: show us COUNTRY.

When I think of country, I think about the servicemen and women who risk their lives so that we can have the life we have today.  I also think about those that continue to serve.  I write this blog in honor of my father who served in World War II.   So through him, I define country.  I am currently telling his WWII story and there is a link to the beginning in the blogroll on the left panel.

John T. Ryan US Navy

John T. Ryan US Navy

USS Hornet (CV-12) after the Battle of the Philippine Sea June 1944

USS Hornet (CV-12) after the Battle of the Philippine Sea June 1944

I also cannot define country without thinking about the people that came from all over the world to live in the United States.  My country truly is a melting pot.  So to help me define country, I add my mother immigrating from the Ireland in the 1950s.

My mom in the 1950s

My mom in the 1950s

Passenger Ship of the Greek Line,  The New York

Passenger Ship of the Greek Line,
The New York

Enjoying the Vogage

Enjoying the Voyage

Leaving the family farm in Ireland

Leaving the family farm in Ireland

Leaving all that she knew

Leaving all that she knew

Comments
  1. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  2. a very touching post – the personal is patriotic – motherland or fatherland

  3. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  4. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  5. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  6. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  7. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  8. snosler says:

    Wow – I wrote something kinda similar … this gave me chills. I wish more people felt this way – well presented.

  9. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  10. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  11. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

  12. […] Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War … […]

Thanks for stopping by. Tell me what is on your mind.

